The Value of Drastic Emotions

Today was one of those days.

I woke up early, didn’t eat breakfast and spent 2.5 hours in transit. All to get to a job that I don’t like. In fact, it’s safe to say I loathe this job. Then, as if slapping me to my senses, I walk into an ice-cold office.

Yay. I’m here… At least there’s a nice view.

A view of the world I’m missing out on for 5 hours of the day. Looking out the window makes me want to jump. Not in a suicidal manner, more like a Lenny Kravitz “I want to get away, I want to fly away” manner.

Lunchtime comes and goes, all I eat is a bag of dark chocolate M&M’s because I’m so picky, and not only about food, but about how I spend money.  I decide an overpriced lunch is just not worth it. I’m not going to like it anyway.

Almost time to go! Reviewing my To Do list I realize all items have been crossed off. Accomplished? Not so much.

Sadly, I’ve mastered the art of physically being somewhere yet mentally being miles away.

Although my work day ends at 3pm I’m far from home. Remember that 2.5 hour commute to work? It’s typically that long on the way back, sometimes longer. With no gas in the tank, the laptop I lug around from bus to train, to train, to bus feels like its fifty pounds. Hope that The Beau didn’t take last night’s leftovers with him to work is all that’s keeping one foot in front of the other.

Thoughts of anger run through my mind. I’m fed up, tired, hate Corporate America, and I know I’m better than this. On and on they go. Eventually my other-self wakes me up…

Stop complaining and CHANGE IT!

Simple. Change it. Basic resolve, it only took a soul-sucking day to get there! But in order to come to that conclusion I had to experience a sequence of drastic, uncomfortable emotions. So all in all, it was worth it.

Our lives are filled with un-pleasantries. How long we dwell in them is completely up to us. Are you constantly victimizing yourself and replaying your trials over and over again? Or do you wisely extract the full value of such occurrences and move on?

Just as traffic signals tell us when to stop, when to go and when to slow down our emotions signal us in the same way.

Constant discomfort? Slow down. Stop.

When does the discomfort occur? What triggers it? How do you overcome the pain?

Answering these insightful questions will lead to change. Your signal to move on and head toward the life you fantasize about!

Comments
4 Responses to “The Value of Drastic Emotions”
  1. love you! you will be fine! you have the ability to change everything!! 🙂

  2. Kwamwei says:

    There’s nothing more satisfying than reading truth! This captivating narration of one’s personal discovery will be the catalyst in someone else’s. Thank you for the truth, and…helping us discover our own!

    • Yes! Truth is satisfying! Personally sometimes it’s hard for me to get to that comfortable place of sharing myself open and honestly but I’m learning that through sharing I not only help myself, but help others too.

      The walls are coming down!!

Leave a Reply

