What’s Your Fantasy?

free to daydream
It’s nice to know I’m not the only one awake at 3:17am on a Tuesday morning. As I type, I hear a couple of guys talking {loudly} in the distance. Its summer and people are living.

Nothing wrong with that right? Life is to be lived. Yet somehow, it seems life is passing me by.  This is a recurring feeling I’ve noticed of late, and yesterday I was clocked with that anxious-knocking-feeling, AGAIN. Have you ever felt that way?

Sitting at your desk, staring at the four walls surrounding you, yet simultaneously focusing on nothing as the chant “MUST BREAK FREE” gets louder and louder in your head.

If you’re reading this I suppose you have felt that way. And if you’ve ever awoke in the middle of the night with “the chant” still looping as background music in your head, then you and I have something in common. We’ve both been visitors at the same {unwelcome} place.

Now that this place has been established, where do we go from here? Personally, I cannot take too many more replays of this theme song…it’s getting old. Is it getting old to you too? Then let’s do something about it. Let’s take action!

Ready?

Start fantasizing with me. Go ahead, I’m giving you permission to daydream, escape, go to that place in your mind that you dare not share with the world for fear you’ll be laughed at, scolded, looked upon with crossed-eyes.

GO. THERE. NOW.

What does your fantasy look like? Where are you? Who are you with? What are you doing? How do you feel?

Enjoy it for as long as you need to. Stop and revel in this place.

Answer each of the questions I asked above. This isn’t some kind of homework, just an exercise to change your frame of mind and get some valuable insight. While you’re fantasizing be sure to take mental note of where you are, who you’re with, what you are doing and how you feel.

daydreaming please wait

image by sew tara

Now that you’re back with me, I ask, how did it feel? That is one of the most important questions you can answer. The other questions are important as well, but the over-all feeling is what I want to focus on.

You may have felt: relaxed, adventurous, creative, alive, elevated, sparkling, open-minded…

There are innumerable ways fantasizing can make you feel. When I fantasize there is an overriding feeling of freedom. A ravishing independence that I want to feel all the time, in everything I do.

This feeling of freedom has become my guide, and whatever feeling you experience when diving into your fantasy should serve as your guide.

Now that we have guides at our disposal, we need to use them, take them for a spin! Since my guide is Freedom I’ll use him, but you need to use your prevailing feeling, and ask…

How can I experience this feeling all of the time {i.e. not only when fantasizing}?

I made a list of things I do which make me feel free:

  • Working for myself
  • Creating
  • Sharing my story/experiences/outlook on life
  • Helping others
  • Being financially in control

This list could go on but you get the idea. Take mental note of things you {can} do that make you feel, however you feel when you fantasize.

Great! Just as we need to know what gets us there we need to know what does not get us there.

I’ve made a list of things I know do not make me feel free:

  • Working for someone else
  • Being a slave to debt
  • Making choices out of obligation rather than a genuine desire to do/not do something

Make your mental list of “do nots” as well.

Never thought daydreaming could be so productive huh! Well it is. This simple event has allowed you to take action. Now you know what makes you feel fantastic and what leaves you feeling deflated. Let’s go a step further. Grab a piece of paper. Write down what feeling your fantasy revealed, along with the things that do and do not get you there. Start strategizing.

For instance, if you work a job that leaves you feeling less than stellar, your plan of action should include ways to dump that job and focus on things that make you shine. I’m not suggesting you resign overnight {although for some people that does work}.

Take baby steps to reach your goal, make sure you’re doing something on a daily basis that gives you a chance to live in the feeling of your dreams.

With that said, you’ll need to give up the things that zap your energy…but that shouldn’t take too much convincing!

Since working for someone else does not make me feel free and being financially in control does I’ve made adjustments to my life. Now I work as an employee less {down to 15 hours a week} and work for myself more. I’ve also simplified my life by avoiding debt of any kind. If I can’t pay cash I don’t buy it. I’m not interested in becoming a slave to another person, let alone to a collection of meaningless objects.

That might not be the route you decide to take, that’s fine. All I’m asking of you is to get clear about your feelings! Know how you get to the places you want to go. Let your feelings be the map, leading you down the road of achievement.

Don’t be shy! Share your feeling{s} with the rest of us! What did you learn about yourself during this exercise? What will you do TODAY to experience this feeling on a regular basis?

{Featured image by Danny Phillips Art}

Comments
2 Responses to “What’s Your Fantasy?”
  1. thesavvymua says:

    Great post! I am right there witcha! I have made a plan of action and am slowly but surely executing it. I can’t quit my 7-4 BUT I am looking into getting a PT job working in my field (extra cash and doing what I love? Sold!) Having a plan is so important when it comes to life changes. Again, great post and great exercise.

Leave a Reply

